Dictator Babies

The Power of the Mustache

I’ve been spending my spare time drawing mustaches on babies. Here’s some of my newest work inspired by some sketches I did a few years back while I was in first year university at Sheridan College.

Hitler

Genghis

Stalin

I did these sketches after we had a discussion in class about how one feature can change one’s entire perception of someone. Something like a mustache can speak volumes when it comes to an illustration. This got me thinking about juxtaposition and how I could use this idea in my own illustration. Then I thought about how a lot of dictators have very distinctive facial hair and it came to me; Dictator Babies!!

I’ve had the sketch for years and always had a fondness for it so I decided to redo it digitally in my current style. I’m getting into doing more portraiture and am going to be focused on that more in the near future. Eventually I want to have a separate Portraits section on my website but in the meantime the site has just been updated with new work including these little babies so if you get chance drop by alyssaandres.com, have a look and let me know what you think!

Until next time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Illustration, Portraits, sketchbook, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

