Beet It!!

Beets Two Ways

I mentioned in my last post that beets were going to be the next challenge to add into my diet. This week I cooked beets two ways. It actually was unintentional. The first time I went to the fruit market I ended up leaving with yellow beets. I didn’t realize there were both there and I thought I was buying the beautiful bright purple beets when what I actually got were beautiful gold ones! So I used the golden ones and then went back and got purple ones and used those too. Here’s what I did with them:

Golden Beet Watercress Salad
(Serves 2)

beet & watercress salad

Ingredients:
2 golden beets
2 handfuls of watercress
1/2 a spring onion, julienne
1 large carrot, peeled and grated
2 tbsp pumpkin seeds, roasted
2 tbsp sunflower seeds, roasted
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp grated ginger
juice of half a lemon


How To Make:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Wash beets, rub them gently with olive oil and place on backing sheet. Place the baking sheet in the oven for 1 hour. Meanwhile, in a bowl, place watercress, grated carrots and chopped onion. Remove the beets from the oven when they’re done, let them cool and then peel the skin off them.  Once the beets are peeled, chop them into small pieces and use them to top your salad along with the roasted sunflower seeds and roasted pumpkin seeds.

For the dressing, mix olive oil, lemon juice, grated ginger in a jar. Shake well and then pour over your salad. Finish with salt and pepper and enjoy!

The roasted seeds really made the salad for me combined with the sweet earthiness of the beets. My sister, a self proclaimed beet hater, even said she would eat this again. Winning.

Next was a more traditional combination…

Beet and Goat Cheese Salad
(Serves 2)

beet and goat cheese salad

Ingredients:
2 purple beets
2 handfuls of spinach
2 tbsp goat cheese
handful of walnuts, roasted
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp dijon mustard
juice of half a lemon
pinch of oregano
salt and pepper

How To Make:
I used cooked beets in this recipes as well. Wash beets and lightly brush them with olive oil. Bake the beets at 350 degrees with the skin on for about an hour. Peel and then slice into round slivers.

For the salad I started by tossing the spinach with the dressing which is a combination of olive oil, lemon juice, dijon, oregano, salt and pepper. Once the spinach leaves were covered I plated them onto two separate plates. I topped the spinach with the slices of beet and then topped the beets with goat cheese crumbles and roasted walnuts. Pecans would have also been good.

Beet and Goat Cheese Close Up

This was a filling meal. I thought it would be an appetizer or a side salad but it was more than enough for a meal. Tasty and rich.

I definitely enjoyed my first encounter with the beet. Now I can relate them to something other than Dwight Shrute from The Office! A tip for getting the most out of your beet experience; save the beet greens separately and use them in salads and for juicing. It’s like getting a two for one deal from nature!

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Nutrition, Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

