I Dream of Veggies

The New Complete Guide to Nutritional Health

Ever since acquiring the book “The New Complete Guide to Nutritional Health” from my local BMV (for $10…what a steal) I’ve been blasted with a huge list of recipes I want to try, veggies I want to buy and new ways to heal my body through my diet.

Between my boyfriend, who has ulcerative colitis, and myself, who struggles with candidiasis, we have our share of struggles with food. This book is full of ways to help our diet work for us instead of against us.

The first thing this book did for me was open up my eyes to the possibilities of my juicer. Typically I would stick to the basic carrot,apple, ginger. Sometimes you would catch me throwing in a leafy green. Now, I’m juicing cabbage, I’m juicing tomato, I’m juicing peppers, and there is a specific reason that I am choosing the veg I’m choosing.

Now I know that cabbage is packed with antioxidants and strengthens the immune system to help the body overcome infection. I also know that tomatoes boost resistance to infectious diseases and keep the skin in good condition. This book literally goes through every organic food product on the planet and tells you what vitamins are in it, what it can help heal, and recipes to use it in.

So I started reading more. With specific sections on different ailments, it was easy for me to find information on the specific topics I was looking for; ulcerative colitis and candida. From there I learned that Matt and I should both be adding things like beets, blueberries, fennel and oily fish to our diets. I took note of each item and vowed to try to incorporate some of them into our meals immediately.

I went out and bought fennel and watercress for the first time in my life! I made a salad with them that turned out to be a delicious summer salad. It was sweet and savoury all at the same time. The flavours complimented each other beautifully and it made a perfect lunch on a sunny day.

Fennel and Grapefruit Salad

Ingredients

1/2 cup chopped fennel
1/2 cup yellow or white onion chopped julienne
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 ruby red grapefruit
1/2 cup watercress leaves, stems removed
8 leaves of romaine lettuce

Directions:
Heat the butter in a skillet on medium high and add in the onions. Sautee until golden brown, about 4-5 minutes. Meanwhile, chop your romaine into bite size pieces and toss with watercress. Add in pieces of fennel on top. Divide your grapefruit into sections and remove as much of the white part of the fruit as possible, separating out the ruby red fruit from the centre. Top the salad with the caramelized onion and the grapefruit and then drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper. Toss and enjoy!

Not only did the book recommend that I eat fennel, it also recommended I try drinking the fennel in what they call an “infusion”. So not only did I buy some whole fennel, I also bought the fennel seeds from my local nutrition store and steeped them in a ratio of 1tbsp of seeds to 150ml of boiling water. This is what I’m going to be drinking three times a day to aid my digestion and help cleanse my body of the excess bile in my intestines. Sound like fun?!

This is really only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to this book. I highly recommend it to those looking for information on all the healthy food out there and how to add it into your life. The next vegetable I’m going to tackle is beet root. Look forward to that in my next post!

Leave a comment

Filed under Diet, Nutrition, Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

