Food To Go

Preparing for a Trip

In my last post I mentioned that I will be leaving on Saturday for a 5 day vacation in beautiful British Columbia and that I will be continuing my cleanse (Day 11 today!!) while I am away, which can be tough. I was concerned about not having enough food, or feeling down about not being able to enjoy all the things that everyone else will be enjoying while on vacation (I’m sure there will be more than a few great bottles of wine I’ll miss out on, not to mention the morning coffees and delicious treats that are sure to surface…)

Right after I published this I found a great post on fitalicious.com called “Have Food, Will Travel” all about tips and techniques for traveling while on a strict diet. This was exactly the motivation I needed to start preparing for my travels. In the post there were links to some amazing recipes from some of my favourite blogs and the best part was some were actually anti-candida!! Needless to say I went home, got together the ingredients and spent the rest of the night in the kitchen whipping up my very own snackies!!

Spicy Sunflower Nori Crackers

The first snack I made was off of the AMAZING food blog “Diets, Desserts and Dogs” which has all kinds of recipes from vegan, to gluten free, to  anti-candida. These Spicy Sunflower Nori Crackers happen to be all of the above! I didn’t have to substitute any ingredients, I just followed the instructions and everything went pretty smoothly.

The only piece of advice I have for those who are wanting to try out this recipes is to leave yourself enough time to bake these bad boys. Being so gung ho about spending all night in the kitchen and making 3 recipes in one night, I didn’t read the full instructions before sticking them in the oven and then realized that not only do you have to bake them for an hour at 200 degrees, you then have to take them out, cut them and put them BACK in the oven for another 2-3 HOURS!!! I put them in the oven at 10PM and then finished reading the instructions and my heart sank… they were done by about 1AM and then I crashed hard!

Another tip would be to either grease the baking sheet first or put down parchment paper underneath the nori because the seaweed stuck to the pan at the end and I lost a couple trying to pry them off!

Grain Free Granola Balls

The second recipe I made was Grain Free Granola Balls from the Daily Bites food blog and I can totally see these becoming a staple in my life. The recipe was super easy, I only had to substitute a couple of things, and they pretty much adhere to my anti-candida diet completely. Here is the recipe I used:

½ cup raw sunflower seeds

½ cup raw pumpkin seeds

½ cup blanched almond flour

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon sea salt

1 cup raw walnuts, chopped

1/2 cup dried goji berries

3 tablespoons almond butter

8 drops stevia

3 tablespoon water

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

I literally just substituted goji berries for blueberries and raisins and instead of honey I used more almond butter and water to adhere it and added stevia for the sweetness. Check out the whole recipe for yourself here.

I’m going to store these two delightful snacks in my carry on in an air tight container along with cut up veggies and my homemade trail mix that contains almonds, soy nuts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and goji berries. I’m also going to pack some Bragg’s and sesame oil with me to use as a substitute for some of the other sauces that might be offered to me at restaurants. Once we land in BC I’m going to look up my closest grocery/health food store and stock up on some other foods that adhere to my diet. I’m of the mind set now that it’s possible to live my life day to day, stick to my diet, jump the hurdles that are thrown at me and feel great. My energy and motivation is way up and it hasn’t even been 2 weeks yet!!!!!

One last recipe I want to share with you is one from The Kitchn that I made for dinner last night (Yes, I literally spent 5 hours in the kitchen after a full day of work AND the gym) I was thinking I wanted to make something with lentils and originally I was thinking of using some tofu I had in the fridge. But then I found this recipe for Smashed Lentils with Egg and it changed everything! So much protein in one bowl, and the thought of the gooey yoke running all over my lentils made my mouth water. It turned out great, it curbed my hunger and now I have enough lentils for me and practically everyone I know!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Nutrition, Recipes, Uncategorized

One response to “Food To Go

  1. So glad you enjoyed the recipes! And sorry about the nori sticking (but I think the recipe says to use parchment??). And sorry I kept you up so late–ha ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

