Spicy Shrimp and Avocado Salad

Beauty in a Bowl

Leading up to my 30 day cleanse I’ve been trying to put together an array of go to recipes that can be made easily and quickly and taste delicious. I wanted to share with you one I came up with the other day that just uses shrimp, quinoa and a load of fresh vegetables that give it a Mexican Style kick.

Whenever I make quinoa I always make more than I need so I can stick it in the fridge and eat it over the next few days and buying a bag of frozen shrimp is great because you can thaw them out in a couple of minutes and have tasty seafood loaded with iron and protein at your will. Use chicken or vegetable broth instead of water to cook the quinoa to give it an extra added flavour.

Ingredients (serves 2)
– 2 cup cooked quinoa
– 15 to 20 shrimp
– 1/2 cup chopped onion
– 1 jalapeno chopped finely
– 1 medium tomato diced
– 1 avocado sliced
– 1/2 cup red pepper diced
– the juice of 1 lime
– dash of red chili  flakes
– 2 leaves of basil chopped finely

How to Make:
Start by placing the quinoa in 2 bowls. Add chopped vegetables and shrimp. You can obviously use more or less of anything, depending on your preference. If you LOVE avocado, add more!! Top with chopped basil, lime juice and chili flakes and you have a beautiful, colourful meal full of protien, carbs and vitamins!

For those who are concerned with eating fresh jalapeno, give it a chance. They are actually not that spicy and add a huge flavour to meals. I use them all the time.

For my 30 day Candida cleanse I will not be eating any grains for at least the 2 weeks so I would replace the quinoa with arugula or spinach. Equally delicious!

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

